Series: After Adrian II

northern exposures

styled-2931

Adrian Lewis lives in Bristol, UK. I admire his work very much and I was explaining to him how the boldness of his images challenges me to get out of the ruts. Please click on Adrian’s name and visit his blog.

I am starting a short series of posts dedicated to greater boldness in my own images. I’ve named the series “After Adrian” since his work is the inspiration for the series. The intent is not to do it the way Adrian might, but to apply some of his techniques to my my work in my own ways.

The rendition of this image is more contrasty than I would normally make it and I have clipped the blacks somewhat – you can see this in portions of the fenceposts. I have also applied a vignette to the corners to add some mystery.

Let me know what you like and don’t like about it. I’m looking for analytical and objective criticism in this series, not compliments, so dive in and tell me how you really respond to it.

8 thoughts on “Series: After Adrian II

  1. Well, since I am Adrian, I’m going to be biased, aren’t I??? And grateful too, for your endorsement, and for the link to my blog. And I can only give my personal opinions, not generalisations.

    I like the image. Both the thin dark frame and the gentle vignette work well. The frame is especially useful because, like mine, your blog has a white background. You’ve some pure blacks and pure whites >>> good on ya!

    I wondered about the black and white areas at the top of the frame but, blocking them out, its evident that they do add to the whole. And if it were me, I think I’d make the fence just a little bit darker.

    Hope this is useful, Dave. Adrian

    1. Exactly the kind of honest appraisal I prefer. I didn’t not think about the area at the top of the frame. Interesting now that you have mentioned it that I did not consider it. I knew you would like the black in the fence but at the same time wish for more. 🙂

      This is an image I did not plan on posting. It did not have anything going for it the way I normally process pics, but the higher contrast has improved it.

      Thanks!

  2. What I like about this post is your acknowledgment of another photographer you found online and who’s work you admire. Many of us involved in photography and the online world see a lot of images every day, and those images no doubt have an effect on us, but it’s rare to find someone who articulates that effect. Bravo to both of you.

    1. Thanks, Richard. I know you promote the work of others on your blog nearly every day even though you have enough fabulous images of your own to fill all that space you devote to others a hundred times over.

      A passing thought pushed this idea into the light, mainly out of a curiosity to try something new in the way of editing my work. Thanks for your comment. It is deeply appreciated.

  3. With this one I think there would have been enough contrast between the whites of the snow and the shadows of the fence, without adding the shadows at the edges – that seems unnatural to me and unnecessary. Perhaps leave the contrasts heightened and try some creative cropping instead! 🙂

      1. Yes, tight in on the fence, either to the right or left, maybe including the corner at one side. Or try a long landscape or vertical format. Just to see what it looks like! 🙂

Comments welcome!

