My Arkansas Hills

Charlie

charlie-011

Resident of the Old Folk’s Home in Hot Springs, Arkansas, owned & operated by my two spinster aunts. That was a long, long time ago. The home was a marvelous place with transomed doorways, sculpted carpet and ceilings so high they might have touched the clouds some days. How Ruth and Iva managed to acquire a nursing home I will never know, but own it they did. For me it was a place of happiness – strange, old and full of people with stories to tell.

Ruth and Iva lived in a home in the country outside Hot Springs. There was nothing out that way except them and the hills. We visited often. On the far outskirts of town, right where a  narrow country lane split off the main road and veered up into the hills, stood a little candy shop, quaint and all alone. Of course, mom and dad, being good parents, understood the value of traditions. And that little candy shop was one we always observed. Then, onward the eight short miles between sweet tradition and final destination. Eight infinite miles that seemed never to end in the mind of a little boy.

Deeply wooded granite hills crept down toward the tiny, worn lane, hiding what lay ahead. But suddenly the hills would fall away and a clearing would appear on the left. There stood an old two story mansion, plain and pragmatic but fronted by a grand porch, deep and wide and high above the ground.

The porch looked out upon a much larger clearing across the road. I didn’t explore it much – it was full of brambles and chiggers. But in the fall we would hazard those dangers to gather bucketfuls of dewberries that later would become the most heavenly of pies. Bite. Squish. Intense flavor exploding sweet and tart all at once from our hard earned bounty. Heaven!

But the hills were my cherished domain. They might have been towering mountains, once, but if they ever were, time certainly had reduced them to child’s play, blunting their crags and mythologizing the majesties that might have been.

And play on them I did! Those were safe times and I roamed the hills unfettered and without fear under the oaks. I never saw another soul up there. Sometimes my aunts and my mom and dad would join me, but most times I ruled the hills alone with Tippy.

Tippy was a shaggy, black and white mutt who belonged to Ruth and Iva. She was my best friend and we were champion trailblazers. We knew every stone and tree.

Of course, even explorers have chores. So after breakfast I would exit the back door of the kitchen and visit the stone cellar dug into the hill immediately behind the house. Hens roosted in there and laid eggs in boxes – big brown eggs that I would gather in a basket for my aunts. Breakfast for tomorrow! Then back to feed the chickens.

All my chores done, Tippy and I would head across the lawn to the back corner of the clearing, leap the rill and follow the gully up into our kingdom. And when we were done, thoughts of dewberry pie would carry us home…

20 thoughts on “My Arkansas Hills

  1. This is so beautiful dear Dave, you almost took me into these memories… Touched my heart too. Life, as always I say, is to collect the memories… They remain at the end of our life… Thank you dear Dave, love, nia

    1. Life distilled should be sweet. Thanks, Nia. I always hope my writing is honest and natural, but sometimes I can’t hear how my own words will sound to others. You are a writer – d
      o you ever have that feeling?

      1. I felt this dear Dave… you almost made me to live these moments… Of course there are some memories of my own life too… You are welcome. And Thank you, I have just noticed that your blog is private now, I couldn’t visit. Have a nice day and weekend, love, nia

          1. that’s right. I only use the private one for testing out new themes. I never post new stuff to it, anyway, so delete that link.

    1. Thank you, Jo. Good memories become even better with age, don’t they? I haven’t been over to your site recently, hardly gone anywhere except to school and back. Been sick and unable to get out to take pics, too. But things are getting better. I’ll get back to your site soon!

  2. That was great David. I have a hard time remembering these things now but I do remember the wonderful times we had there and how you loved to go for a visit. Your interest in the patients was genuine and they always loved to see us come.

    1. Thanks, Mom. You know, I reflected on those memories a long time and many of them came back to me, like the eggs and feeding the hens and the little rill at the back of the yard. Those were great times. What color was that candy shop?

      1. It’s memories like that that make birthdays acceptable for us. Such a beautiful story, itten. Why, oh why, David, don’t you submit it to lication so ore than just a few of us can read and enjoy and reminisce??

  3. What a great memory that must be Dave and I am in awe of the excellent photo. It tells such a story. Your aunts sound like they were just the best and they did such a wonderful job as well. 😀

    1. I think I’m pretty fortunate to have grown up surrounded by all of dad’s photographs. And I think Ruth and Iva must have been really good to their residents. There is a lot of tenderness expressed in the pictures I have of them with their patients. Back then, they did everything – they had a few orderlies, but they were at the beside much of the time. It’s all business in our generation, but they did it for love, I think.

      1. You are indeed and it sure looks like that. Life was tough back then, but people still had more compassion for each other and I can see they took great care of their patients.

        You’re right, today it’s more about the money than the love. 😀

  4. Dewberries. My brother and I would wander along the railroad tracks to pick them, then bring them home in coffee cans, fingers dyed purple. Dave, that was 60 years ago. Thanks for bringing back the memories.

Comments welcome!

