Two Trails

life in a village

frosted trees-1030697

The meteorologist predicted -25/-31 today. So its 10 degrees colder. I like weathermen. Whenever I feel badly about mistakes I’ve made, I think about them and feel much better.

The Yukon River Drainage Fisheries Association met in our village this week. The YRDFA is an important group working to bring together the many voices who are concerned about the declining king salmon population. I attended with six of my students and we interviewed native fishermen from every region along the Yukon, from its mouth to its headwaters. The story is a painful one because these men and women don’t fish for sport, they fish for life, and their food supply is at an historic low.

On a brighter note, we have lots of daylight now. What a blessing that is!

4 thoughts on “Two Trails

  1. I love your observation about weathermen! πŸ™‚ And what a beautiful photo. That sounds like a very serious situation with the salmon fishing. Does anyone know why the fish supply is so low?

  2. What a beautiful image… But I simply cannot FATHOM that kind of weather / coldness. My brother was just joking about the weathermen, too: “They said 2″. We got over a foot of the white stuff. Thanks, guys!” πŸ™‚

    I’ve read a bit about the decline in the salmon population, and efforts to help it β€” it’s just extraordinary. Especially when there are specific reasons which can be stopped immediately, to help their numbers. It’s not just the salmon, as you say. It’s an entire way of life.

    1. Thank you FeyGirl for your comments. You know I always feel better when I see your name pop up. Yes, it is extraordinary, and a terribly complex issue. I plan to write a bit about that with each post for awhile.

Comments welcome!

