Of Love and Dreams

Charlie, northern exposures

oldfolkhome-064

More images from Dad’s essay on the Old Folk Home. When we are young we love passionately, daringly. When we are old, tenderness and faithfulness define our love.

oldfolkhome-066

She kept her room dark, I don’t know why. She was odd but I liked her immensely. Her birds were the great loves of her life.

He was always alone and always outside in the yard. My Dad told me he wanted to escape. I feared he might climb that fence, but I suppose he never did. I was very sorry for him. These scans were made from photographs printed a half century ago.

6 thoughts on “Of Love and Dreams

  1. I remember this little couple David. They were always together and you could just see the love light their little eyes. I do not remember much about the little lady with the birds but do remember the little man always looking for a way to escape.

    On Thu, Jan 31, 2013 at 1:52 AM, Gwichyaa Zhee

    1. I keep looking at him and thinking he looks a bit like the carpenter, but I know that can’t be. His smile and eyes are much happier.

  2. True slices of life. Of lives lived.Your Dad had an ability to capture something more than just an image. Thank you for sharing these photos.

Comments welcome!

