Compensation

northern exposures, travels

Over the Yukon Flats

Two long hours from Dallas to Denver…a thirty minute stretch of the legs in Mile High City Airport…five longer hours from Denver to Fairbanks…

I am stiff and hungry. As I deplane I weave a bit, but I am not the only one. I ignore the baggage area and head straight for the door. The answer to my immediate need awaits just outside. I step out under a sky rippled with clouds like whalebones – they are a common form here – and breathe deeply of old friends long missed, the heady scent of earth and fresh fallen rain and the sweet fragrance of greenwood. It is 10 pm and a cool 63/17.

I am without a camera for a few weeks, so I’ll be using using last year’s pictures for awhile.

4 thoughts on “Compensation

Comments welcome!

