Joe’s Barns

travels

Joe and Sue live on a homestead that has been in Joe’s family for 116 years. For those of you around the world who measure history in thousands of years that may not seem like a very long time. But Texas is just 167 years old and the United States only 236 years, so 116 years is a large chunk of our national history.

The images are really of two separate barns that sit side by side. Sue says the barns are about 100 years old. She isn’t certain about their ages; all she knows is that the horses lost interest in them a long time ago. Photographers still like them, though, and at least one used the barns as the backdrop for a bridal portrait.

26 thoughts on “Joe’s Barns

  1. Dear Dave,
    It is interesting for me to note that you say Texas is 167 years old.
    In Andalusia, for example, Spain’s history begins in the fifteenth century, but before we went Arabs, and before Visigoths and Romans, and Phoenicians, and Tartessians and so on to prehistory.
    Somehow, part of what we are today is a legacy of what we went.
    Texas for example has an interesting history from pre-Columbian peoples, and from the late seventeenth century briefly as a French colony and later as a Spanish colony until 1821.
    Anyway, congratulations on the wonderful pictures and thank you for the interesting stories.
    Greetings from Mallorca

    1. Yes, the infancy of our nation has always intrigued me. I have always felt like the U.S. will go on forever, but world history suggests that may not happen. Like Spain, which already had a rich and active history long before the 15th century, Texas was home to American Native populations and some of those now appear to go back as far as fifteen thousand years. The Athabascans in our region of interior Alaska must have come across a land bridge from the west, and some of them decided there had to be something better than cold moved on to become the Navaho people in the southwestern regions of our country. Political entities come and go but the land remains.

    1. Hi, Debby. Glad I got to visit and remember how beautiful Henderson County is. And thank you for leaving a comment. It’s good to know you are enjoying the posts.

    1. Ha! Yes, see Jill’s comment below. How do you manage to get things to last so long over where you live? Everything we build falls down in an archeological blink of an eye.

  2. Always pleasure to see what has caught your eye each time – gorgeous! Loving the texture of old wood and artistic detail. Where are you off to next Dave? Happy road trip, it looks like you’re having a great time! Sharon

    1. Just hanging around Dallas, now. Maybe a short trip to viisit a friend a ways south, but other than that, spend lots of time with family here in Dallas.

  3. I love those barns! I hope I never see the day when they are no longer standing. I suppose I have never thought about how old they were. It is funny how you brought this up. My husband and I were just over in Europe (Mallorca even, where your first friend is from) and said the exact same thing, it blows us away that there are structures 1000s of years old still standing. We would stand there in awe trying to comprehend it while others think nothing of it, it is part of their everyday lives. To us, 100 years ago is “old” to others around the world that is modern.

    So glad you were able to spend time with Sue and Gemaw, I only wish dad could have come over from Mississippi to see.
    I’m enjoying your blog. Thanks for sharing!
    Jill

      1. I’m in Biloxi, MS. We like it. We live a block and a half off the beach, so we get the nice breeze off the gulf most days.

        1. I have three remembrances of my visits to Miss. Hot. Humid. The Round Table in Mendenhall. I was one of the fortunate who enjoyed a dinner there before it closed for good, new year’s eve 2001. The food was wonderful and the company (you were seated next to strangers at giant round tables) was even better. I had a very short haircut then, and the lady next to me asked, “Oh, are you a Marine?”

  4. It’s amazing how much beauty there is in all these old structures… The textures, the colors, the angels – talented artist saw it and brought to light. You did it, Gwichyaa!

    1. I had a friend once who tore down an old barn and made picture frames and such from the wood. But I like your idea better.

  5. Dave, I love these. I’m fascinated with old barns with rusty nails jutting out all over. As a little girl I spent a lot of time at my aunt and uncle’s farm on St. Margaret’s Bay in Nova Scotia. It had a lovely old dilapidated barn, perfect for children. These are fabulous shots.

    1. I’m pretty old and rusty myself, so I always like hearing other people say they are fascinated with old things. πŸ™‚ Nova Scotia has always intrigued me. I hear it is very beautiful. Is it must be much less rural than it was in your childhood days?

    1. I love old wood, too. Got that from my Dad. Nice to hear from you – I’ve been out of pocket most of the summer and only have intermittent internet, not at home for a few more weeks. No camera, either. Bummer…

Comments welcome!

