Walking Around

life in a village, northern exposures

We had a cold front today. It was 26 degrees F this morning and remained cool this afternoon. I have been able to detect at least two of the 29 varieties of willow in the flats. I have this hankering to become something of a willow expert. I have always respected naturalists; they contribute much to our knowledge of the world.

The prickly red stem belongs to the rose hip plant which I talked about at length in three posts last fall (see Nitzi). We make jam out of rose hips and use them for battling colds. They are one of the highest plant sources of vitamin C on the planet. The downside of picking them is that they prickle back!

I’ll try to make a post about our cultural week tomorrow.

Mahsi’

Thank you

11 thoughts on “Walking Around

    1. Their pretty tough, alright. When the snow melted away there were still fruit left on last year’s branches. I guess the deep freeze suits them. πŸ™‚

  1. Absolutely stunning shots again Dave. Those thorns reminds me of the Silk Floss Tree we have in our backyard. Beautiful flowers but those thorns are sharp and all over. πŸ™‚
    Great post! πŸ™‚

    1. I’m not familiar with the Silk Floss Tree. I’m hoping the rose hips blossom soon enough that I can see them. They are not a true rose, or maybe they are but are not primarily a flower. But thorns they do have! Still, they are easier to pick than blackberries or okra.

  2. The first photograph, standing so impressive… and so beautiful… like a little birds on the branch… πŸ™‚
    Rose hips amazing healthy herbal… but unfortunately I have allergie of them… Thank you dear Dave, as always it is so nice read you, I wonderful tomorrow’s post now. Have a nice day, with my love, nia

    1. Thank you, Nia.

      (In times past there was a popular soft drink brand named Nehi, and your name reminds me of it. They made a wonderful grape soda. I hope you don’t mind being compared to a grape.)

    1. Why, thank you, Bec. It seemed to me that b&w told their story better. I have one more in color that I’ll have to post. It’s nice, but it doesn’t emphasize their lines and grace.

Comments welcome!

