Dinner Is Served

northern exposures

Three above, sunny and breezy.

Here’s a little green for you. Yuhooo…hope you like rhubarb!

Yes, it really is. This grandaddy is the prize of an organic farm in Fairbanks. Our growing season is on the short side compared to more temperate regions. Ours starts in May and ends before September, but we get 18 plus hours of daylight in summertime and some say you can actually see the vegetables grow. Humm…maybe I’ll have to check that out.

Last fall I discovered the farmers market in Fairbanks and right away it became my favorite place in town. The locally grown crops are absolutely irresistible, so if you ever have the good fortune to come, bring lots of money and a very healthy appetite. There are craftsmen at the market, too, showing off wonderful hand-turned bowls made of native woods, furniture, photographs and more so don’t overspend on the produce. Hungry from all your shopping? You can always pick up a hot meal at the market.

Gretchin is my favorite vendor there. She makes homemade chocolates, caramels with sea salt, and lemon and orange creme fudges that, well, I don’t have the words to describe them, but I think she got her recipes from heaven. Gretchin also happens to be one the rarest kinds of vendors, one who will go to any length to help her customers. She actually mailed me candy for my wife without having payment in advance just to make sure I had it for Valentine’s. Check her out at North Pole Candies. By the way, she has no idea that I am telling you this. I just think that much of her.

About that rhubarb. As I resurrected this picture for my post, I realized that I had purchased rhubarb in Fairbanks on our last flight into the city. I think a little rhubarb crisp is in order…

13 thoughts on “Dinner Is Served

  1. They seem so beautiful, these green leaves of rhubarb. In my country we see them at the east part and in the hightest places… We use in amny ways, you know it is also being used in pharmacy too. How beautiful to know that you have a wonderful summer days too… I enjoyed as always. Thank you dear Dave, (by the way my letter departed from Cincinnati early in the morning today where does it fly I don’t know but seems that my letter travels the world šŸ™‚ ) Have a nice day, with my love, nia

        1. I should tell you now that the last leg of the journey sometimes takes a while. We have no mail services except the local post office, and they process items when they feel like it. They are not respecters of special delivery items. We’ll probably get it next week. I’ll be out of town on Monday and maybe Tuesday, but Lindsay will watch for it while I am gone. I can’t wait to share you with my students.

    1. No tiene rhubarb en Mallorca? Did I say that right? Oh, it is very special and a natural complement to strawberries. It grows in stalks and looks much like celery, except it is red. It is often mixed in pies, tarts, and jams.

  2. I don’t like rhubarb, but itis good to make a soup sour,that’s when I use it. Thank you for the green, I appreciate it every time :D. Looks good and healthy!

Comments welcome!

