Frosted Barbs

life in a village

Somehow, barbed wire seems out of place in our little village. This stretch borders the airfield. Why, I really don’t know. Maybe it’s to keep people from straying across the airstrip, or to keep animals out. Still, the barbs seem a bit extreme to me. Alaska Fish and Wildlife also uses a high fence and barbed wire around their quarters here in the village, but that is because they are unmanned for half the year. Personally, I think the frost has improved this fence’s disposition – it doesn’t appear quite so hostile now.

Be sure to see the featured post on my home page for a preview of Carnival, which begins next week.

15 thoughts on “Frosted Barbs

    1. Thanks, Maenamor. It’s a one I took a few months back. I’ve been a bit under the weather and am having to scrounge through my stuff looking for post-worthy photographs until I feel up to walking about in the cold.

      1. It,s great to look back through your old photo,s isnt it.. hope you’re feeling better soon and out and about 🙂

  1. I loved too… and I loved the celebrations photographs too… Thank you dear Dave, I am really excited now, for the spring… after snow to watch there… Should be amazing too. I wonder now what is there under the white clothes…? Have a nice day, with my love, nia

  2. A wery beautiful picture, Dave!! But normally I do not like barbed wire.. I guess it is used because of the airstrip. Over here it is not allowed anymore, to keep animals out, since it can hurt animals..

Comments welcome!

